LIST YOUR EVENT FOR FREE

In Conversation: Gareth Brown & Sunyi Dean

Gareth Brown joins us at Waterstones Edinburgh West End to celebrate the release of his brilliant The Book of Doors!

In Conversation: Gareth Brown & Sunyi Dean

About In Conversation: Gareth Brown & Sunyi Dean

Gareth Brown joins us to celebrate the release of his brilliant The Book of Doors. Perfect reading for all fans of The Binding and A Discovery of Witches, Brown's electrifying fantasy sends a New York bookseller on a spectacular adventure upon receipt of a highly mysterious volume.

Because some doors should never be opened. New York bookseller Cassie Andrews is not sure what she’s doing with her life. She lives quietly, sharing an apartment with her best friend, Izzy. Then a favourite customer gives her an old book. Full of strange writing and mysterious drawings, at the very front there is a handwritten message:

This is the Book of Doors. Hold it in your hand, and any door is every door.

Cassie is about to discover that the Book of Doors is a special book – a magic book. A book that bestows extraordinary abilities on whoever possesses it. And she is about to learn that there are other magic books out there that can also do wondrous – or dreadful and terrifying – things.

Because where there is magic there is power and there are those who will stop at nothing to possess it. Suddenly Cassie and Izzy are confronted by violence and danger, and the only person who can help them is Drummond Fox who has a secret library of magical books hidden in the shadows for safekeeping, a man fleeing his own demons. Because there is a nameless evil out there that is hunting them all.

Because this book is worth killing for.

Addictive, brilliantly written and utterly irresistible, The Book of Doors is the spell-binding, mind-bending, heart-pounding new adventure that is perfect for fans of The Binding.

Sunyi Dean is a multi-award nominated author who was born in Texas, grew up in Hong Kong, and now resides in North England. She writes speculative fiction with a weird slant and her debut novel, The Book Eaters, was an instant #2 Sunday Times Bestseller.

This is sure to be a great night with a Q&A and signing afterwards.

Sponsored Links

Other Events at Waterstones Edinburgh West End

In-Store Signing: Jason Fox

22nd April 2024

Join us on Monday 22nd April at Waterstones Edinburgh West End to celebrate the release of Jason Fox's new book Embrace the Chaos and get your signed copy!

READ MORE

Nicola Dinan: In conversation with Lesley McDowell

15th May 2024

Join Nicola Dinan at Waterstones Edinburgh West End for an event celebrating the paperback launch of her debut novel, Bellies, a beautiful story of love, loss, and transitions.

READ MORE

An Evening with Kate Foster

6th June 2024

Join us at Waterstones Edinburgh West End on Tuesday 6th June when we will be joined by Kate Foster to celebrate the release of her latest novel The King's Witches!

READ MORE

An Evening with: Ed Winters

16th July 2024

Join us at Waterstones Edinburgh West End on Tuesday 16th July to hear Ed Winter's, activist and author of This is Vegan Propaganda talk about his latest book, How to Argue with a Meat Eater.

READ MORE

Sponsored Links

Similar events you might like...

Abbey Strand Book Club

Abbey Strand Book Club

Selected dates between 8th March 2024 - 6th December 2024

Explore spaces and objects which have shaped history and inspired fiction at the Abbey Strand book club!

READ MORE
Record Store Day 2024 with VoxBox

Record Store Day 2024 with VoxBox

20th April 2024
Stockbridge and Canonmills

Come join us for for our annual Record Store Day party. After the past 3 lovely events in St Vincent's Chapel down the road, we are bringing RSD fun back to St Stephen Street.

READ MORE
In-Store Signing: Jason Fox

In-Store Signing: Jason Fox

22nd April 2024

Join us on Monday 22nd April at Waterstones Edinburgh West End to celebrate the release of Jason Fox's new book Embrace the Chaos and get your signed copy!

READ MORE
Meet The Astrophysicist: Dr. Katie Mack

Meet The Astrophysicist: Dr. Katie Mack

22nd April 2024

The universe started with a bang — but how will it end? Join us for an evening with theoretical astrophysicist Dr. Katie Mack, and journey to the farthest reaches of the cosmos to find out!

READ MORE
Spring Poetry Pamphlet Fair

Spring Poetry Pamphlet Fair

27th April 2024

Come along to the Scottish Poetry Library to browse and buy poetry pamphlets, periodicals and zines from some of Scotland’s incredible independent presses.

READ MORE
The Epic History of The Lord of the Rings

The Epic History of The Lord of the Rings

1st May 2024

Journey deep into Tolkien's imagination, from The Lord of the Ring's mythic roots to its enduring legacy. Followed by Q&A.

READ MORE
Bookface Sip & Swap with Helen Fields

Bookface Sip & Swap with Helen Fields

5th May 2024

Meet bestselling crime thriller author Helen Fields at the Bookface Sip & Swap in The Cold Town House, Grassmarket on 5th May!

READ MORE
Book Launch: Yum by Susi Briggs - Part of Edinburgh Tradfest 2024

Book Launch: Yum by Susi Briggs - Part of Edinburgh Tradfest 2024

6th May 2024

Join Susi Briggs for stories in the cosy Storytelling Court to celebrate the launch of her new book Yum, illustrated by Charlotte Brayley and published by Foggie Toddle Books.

READ MORE
Author Talk- Margaret Lillie

Author Talk- Margaret Lillie

11th May 2024

Join us at McDonald Road Library as we welcome the children's author Margaret Lillie on Saturday 11th May! Suitable for ages 4-7.

READ MORE

Find other events in Edinburgh

Sponsored Links

Popular Events

Edinbrick - A LEGO Model Show
Edinbrick is back for 2024 at a new venue! Edinburgh's biggest LEGO Model Show, will be held on the weekend of the 20th and 21st of April at McEwan Hall.
The Tinnitus, Hyperacusis & Hearing Information Show (THIS 2024) Edinburgh
Join us at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh for our eighth annual Tinnitus, Hyperacusis & Hearing Information Show (THIS) 2024. A beacon of hope for those navigating the challenges of tinnitus.
Hamilton
The multi award-winning cultural phenomenon 'Hamilton' is touring the UK for the very first time and is coming to the Festival Theatre for a 9 week season from 28th February 2024!
Cultural Evening - Celebrating the Bengali New Year!
Enjoy an unforgettable Cultural Evening, celebrating the Bengali New Year at Life Church on Saturday 20th April!
The time has come? The future of European Security and defence
An expert seminar as part of the Talking Europe weekend, organised by the Scottish Council on Global Affairs is taking place at Summerhall on Sunday 12th May.

Popular Listings

Corn Exchange Haddington Edinburgh Playhouse Festival Theatre Edinburgh Howden Park Centre Livingston Kings Theatre Edinburgh National Museum of Scotland O2 Academy Edinburgh The Brunton Theatre, Musselburgh Traverse Theatre Usher Hall